Nobel Laureates



Severo Ochoa (1905-1993).  Nobel Prize in Medicine (1959)

Professor of Physiology and Biochemistry (1931-1935)

Graduated in Medicine (1929)


Santiago Ramón y Cajal (1852-1934). Nobel Prize in Physiology and Medicine (1906)

Professor of Histology, Histochemistry and Pathological Anatomy since 1892

Doctor of Medicine Degree (1877)


José Echegaray (1832-1916). Nobel Prize in Literature (1904)

Professor of Physical and Mathematical Sciences until 1915




Mario Vargas Llosa (1936). Nobel Prize in Literature (2010)

Doctor of Philosophy Degree from the Complutense University (1958-1960)

Graduated summa cum laude in 1971

Camilo José Cela (1916-2002). Nobel Prize in Literature (1989)

Studies in Medicine, Law and Spanish Literature

Vicente Aleixandre (1898-1984). Nobel Prize in Literature (1977)

Graduated in Law (1919)

Jacinto Benavente (1866-1954). Nobel Prize in Literature (1922)

Studies in Law




Santiago Ramón y Cajal

Santiago Ramón y Cajal


Vicente Aleixandre

Vicente Aleixandre