• Español


Linguistic pluralism in Spain

The official language in Spain is Spanish or Castilian Spanish, which is spoken by all citizens. However, certain Autonomous Communities have their own official language in addition to Spanish. Catalan is spoken in Catalonia, Galician in Galicia, and Basque in the Basque Country and part of Navarre. The Balearic Islands and Valencia also have their own official languages. In order to better integrate into any of these regions, you should study the local language.

Communicating in other languages

English is by far the most used language to communicate with non Spanish speaking foreigners. France and German are the next most used, but a considerable distance behind. 

Learning Spanish

If you want to study Spanish before coming to Spain, the Cervantes Institute network is a good option. To find the nearest centre you can visit the web page. Once in Spain, there are also Official Language Schools in each province.

The Spanish language Studies Centre of The Complutense University is accredited to get the Instituto Cervantes Diplomas in Spanish as a Foreign Language (DELE). For more information visit the following website.