Institutos Universitarios

VII Meeting on Fundamental Cosmology


First announcement: VII Meeting on Fundamental Cosmology, Madrid Sep 9-11 2019


This is the first announcement for the VII Meeting on Fundamental Cosmology, that will take place in Madrid (Spain) from September 9th through 11th 2019 at the Physics building of the Universidad Complutense. Registration and other details will be provided very soon, this is a heads up for anyone interested in attending!

These annual meetings aim to provide a venue for discussion and exchange of ideas among the Spanish community of Physical Cosmology, bringing as well lead scientists from abroad in the topics of interest. This forum is intended to help us identify our challenges and opportunities for the future. It is being co-organized and co-funded by the María de Maeztu CIEMAT Física de Partículas Unit, Instituto de Física de Partículas y del Cosmos (IPARCOS) of the Universidad Complutense de Madrid and the MultiDark network.

During the meeting, we will review different aspects of particular interest in cosmology: the status of dark energy and its alternatives, gravitational waves, the robustness of the LCDM model after the latest results and news from projects at different stages of development. The structure of the meeting will be with 'plenary' presentations (no parallels) including a few keynote invited speakers which currently include: 

* Martín Crocce (IEEC-CSIC)
* Eleonora di Valentino (University of Manchester)
* Pedro Ferreira (University of Oxford)
* Michele Maggiore (Université de Genève)

There will be some allocated time for short contributed presentations, and young researchers (PhD students and postdocs) are particularly encouraged to ask for these (some funding can be requested covering the stay and the conference fee). In case some of the contributions cannot be catered for as an oral presentation, we will have plenty of space and time for discussion in a poster session.

For any queries, please do contact us at this address: 


Feel free to send this first announcement to any other colleagues that may be interested in attending so they can reserve the date as well.

More news soon, including a complete webpage with important dates and submission info.
Pilar Coca Llano (CIEMAT)
Susana Hernández (IFT)
Antonio López Maroto (UCM)
Jose Alberto Ruiz Cembranos (UCM)
Eusebio Sánchez Álvaro (CIEMAT)
Ignacio Sevilla Noarbe (CIEMAT)